A number of wholesalers who sell to ecommerce marketplace providers including Amazon, eBay, and others, have recently been in trouble due to overlooked state sales taxes on items sold online, across state lines. When the issue came to light, several vendors were slammed with several years in owed sales tax, interest, and penalties. 25 states are assisting these vendors, however, with The Online Marketplace Seller Voluntary Disclosure Initiative. For a limited time, states involved in the initiative will waive any liability for back owed taxes, interest, and penalties, provided that the business in question registers and begins collecting and remitting state taxes on their sales going forward.

The initiative is unique in that it offers full amnesty to businesses who owe back taxes in multiple states, but it is only available through November 1st. Here is a full list of participating states:

  • Alabama
  • Arkansas
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • District of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Idaho
  • Iowa
  • Kansas
  • Kentucky
  • Louisiana
  • Massachusetts
  • Minnesota
  • Missouri
  • Nebraska
  • New Jersey
  • North Carolina
  • Oklahoma
  • Rhode Island
  • South Dakota
  • Tennessee
  • Texas
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Wisconsin

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *